100 Movies in 100 Days / Movies

100 Years of Movies in 100 Days – Day 74 – Flashdance (1983)

Jennifer Beals strikes a pose in "Flashdance"

Jennifer Beals strikes a pose in "Flashdance"

And now, in the immortal words of Monty Python, time for something completely different. Having never seen Flashdance before, I’m going to first give my impressions and expectations and then follow it up with my reaction. So what am I expecting? Something, somewhere between Full Monty and Striptease mixed with some killer 80’s tunes, big hair and neon colored clothes. And high socks.

So I’m halfway through. Let’s go down the checklist: some classic 80’s songs. Check. Big hair. Check. Neon-colored clothes… we’ll get there. I think. And while I was expecting a love story somewhere along the way, I didn’t think it would something as skeezy as the boss trying to get some from his only female employee. What a douche! And furthermore, I must say Jennifer Beals’ confession booth moment struck a chord. OK, onward to the second half.

Ok, credits are rolling. So my immediate reactions are that if you want your dreams to come true, sleep with your boss. Sounds simple enough. And then the way she says, “F-you! I don’t need your help!” Sounds just like me! But I will say this about Nick, he has one of the best lines in the movie – “You give up your dream, you die.” Not literally of course, but inside. That’s why I admire Alex’s never-say-die attitude. That convo between Richie and Alex, well, if all goes well, I expect to have that similar conversation with a lot of people I know here in the States. The “I’ll miss you part,” not the part about the stupid radiator. More than anything though, this movie made me want to do karaoke.

Leave a comment